A Review of “Black Edge”

About Sheelah Kolhatkar

The genesis of this book was from a New Yorker article published in 2017 by the author. The rise and fall of a hedge fund that impressed Wall Street with its unmatchable profits for its investors seems to have warranted a book of its own. If this were fiction, it would be one of the tautest thrillers making an entry at the top of various book charts.

A Review of “Black Edge”

Reader Q&A

A Review of “Black Edge”

The story revolves around SAC Capital Advisors and its founder Steven A. Cohen, who used his hedge fund to become one of the richest people in the United States. Kolhatkar gives us a very human presentation and one doesn’t need much financial expertise to understand https://www.investopedia.com/terms/s/statement-of-retained-earnings.asp it. She did a great deal of research and crafts a compelling read that can be appreciated by both investors and the politically minded concerned about Wall Street. I am leaving this review brief to not spoil it for those unfamiliar with the story.

Prosecutors labeled SAC a “magnet for market cheaters” whose culture encouraged the relentless pursuit of “edge”—and even “black edge,” which is inside information—and the firm was ultimately indicted and pleaded guilty to charges related to a vast insider trading scheme. Black Edge is a riveting legal thriller that raises urgent questions about the power and wealth of those who sit at the pinnacle of high finance and how they have reshaped the economy.

“I could not handle the stress of making imperfect decisions based on incomplete information with other people’s money . I didn’t have the personality for it.” Before signing on with The New Yorker in 2016, Kolhatkar was a features editor and national correspondent at Bloomberg Businessweek. A https://forexarena.net/ nonfiction book describing in detail Steve Cohen’s rise as the most prolific trader on Wall Street and the eventual FBI and SEC investigation into his hedge fund. I’m not really sure what else I can say except like wow maybe I should switch career paths now and just become a financial analyst.

Preview — Black Edge by Sheelah Kolhatkar

  • Black Edge can be read as a true crime suspense book or as a journalistic revelation of how greed and corruption works in the hedge fund business.
  • I found it worthwhile on both levels not knowing how things would turn out.
  • It’s not a whodunit, but rather a question of whether the perpetrators will be brought to justice.

insider trading scheme, even as Cohen himself was never charged. Black Edge offers a revelatory look at the gray zone in which so much of Wall Street functions. It’s a riveting, true-life legal thriller that https://forexarena.net/new-trader-rich-trader/ takes readers inside the government’s pursuit of Cohen and his employees, and raises urgent and troubling questions about the power and wealth of those who sit at the pinnacle of modern Wall Street.

I read Sheelah Kolhatkar’s August 27, 2018 article in The New Yorker titled “Paul Singer, Doomsday Investor” and I was hooked by not only the story, but also her story-telling ability. Even more interesting is the story about its founder, Steven A. Cohen, who is just a cunning character to say the least. Its pioneers didn’t lay railroads, build factories, or invent new technologies. Rather, they made their billions through financial speculation, by placing bets in the market that turned out to be right more often than not.

Previously, she was a features editor and national correspondent at Bloomberg Businessweek, and a regular contributor to Bloomberg Television. She is the author of the bestseller Black Edge,about the largest insider trading investigation in history and the transformation of Wall Street and the U.S. economy, which was named a Top Book of 2017 by The New York Times. The story of the billionaire trader Steven Make the Deal: Acquisitions A. Cohen, the rise and fall of his hedge fund, SAC Capital, and the largest insider trading investigation in history–for readers of The Big Short, Den of Thieves, and Dark Money and fans of Showtime’s Billions. Sheilah Kolhatkar was recently interviewed by the New York Times Book Review. The interviewer notes that she “worked in the late 1990s and early 2000s as an analyst at a couple of small hedge funds.

Black Edge can be read as a true crime suspense book or as a journalistic revelation of how greed and corruption works in the hedge fund business. I found it worthwhile on both levels not knowing how things would turn https://yandex.ru/search/?text=%D0%BA%D1%80%D0%B8%D0%BF%D1%82%D0%BE%20%D0%B1%D0%B8%D1%80%D0%B6%D0%B0&lr=213 out. It’s not a whodunit, but rather a question of whether the perpetrators will be brought to justice. We learn a lot about law enforcement and financial regulation and their limits with respect to insider trading.

But as incredulous as it seems, Black Edge is non-fiction, pieced together from real life events – with larger than life characters – both in terms of their personalities and the vast sums of money involved. Such is this story of success and failure of one of the biggest and most envied hedge fund called SAC Capital https://www.investopedia.com/terms/b/brexit.asp Advisros, run by an equally maverick personality – Steven A Cohen. Through this book, Sheelah Kolhatkar has done an excellent job of bringing to light the events that led to the litigation and aftermath of this hedge fund. Very engaging, as exciting as any good financial / legal thriller, a real page-turner.

Its about an FBI / SEC investigation aimed at bringing down Steven Cohen, a highly successful hedge fund manager admired as a semi-god on Wall Street, and his sleazy firm, SAC Capital, being notorious for insider trading. Without disputing the evident financial genius of Cohen he seems to have built SAC Capital around gaining and trading on the basis of black edge i.e. information not available to the public. Sheelah Kolhatkar, a former hedge fund analyst, is a staff writer at The New Yorker, where she writes about Wall Street, Silicon Valley, economics and national politics, among other things. She has written the magazine’s Financial Page column and is the host of the public television program “Playing By The Rules,” and is a regular contributor to NPR’s Marketplace.

Best business books

A Review of “Black Edge”

In hedge fund circles, Steven A. Cohen was revered as one of the greatest traders who ever lived. But that image was shattered when his fund, SAC Capital, became the target of a seven-year government investigation.

http://credit-n.ru/zaymyi-next.html